ICC announced Men’s T20 World Cup 2020 Schedule

The International Cricket Council (ICC) announced the complete schedule for the 2020 edition of the T20 World Cup. Both men’s and women’s T20 World Cups will take place in Australia in the same year so this will be a historic occasion.

Women’s tournament will begin on 21 February and ends on 8 March, the men’s tournament will held from 18 October to 15 November. Both finals will be held at the iconic Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG).

The men’s T20 World Cup in 2020 will see 2014 champions Sri Lanka kicking off the tournament with a First Round match against a yet to be determined qualifying team at South Geelong. Hosts Australia will begin the Super 12 stage against current top-ranked Pakistan at the famous Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG).

2007 champions India and 2009 champions Pakistan have been slotted in different groups in the Super 12 stage as they occupy the top two spots in the current T20I rankings.

Apart from these two Asian giants and hosts Australia, two-time champions West Indies, 2010 champions England, New Zealand, South Africa and Afghanistan have earned direct spots for the Super 12 stage. They will be joined by four qualifying teams from the First Round.

For the First Round, Sri Lanka will be joined by three qualifiers in Group A and Bangladesh will compete alongside three qualifiers in Group B. These six qualifiers will be decided by the ICC T20 World Cup Qualifier in 2019.

First Round

Group A – Sri Lanka and three qualifiers

Group B – Bangladesh and three qualifiers

Super 12

Group 1 –  West Indies, Pakistan, Australia, New Zealand, A1 and B2

Group 2 –  England, South Africa, India, Afghanistan, B1 and A2

Full Schedule for 2020 Men’s T20 World Cup

18th October: Sri Lanka vs Qualifier A3

18th October: Qualifier A3 vs Qualifier A3

19th October: Bangladesh vs Qualifier B3

19th October: Qualifier B3 vs Qualifier B3

20th October: Qualifier A3 vs Qualifier A3

20th October: Sri Lanka vs Qualifier A3

21st October: Qualifier B3 vs Qualifier B3

21st October: Bangladesh vs Qualifier B3

22nd October: Qualifier A3 vs Qualifier A3

22nd October: Sri Lanka vs Qualifier A3

23rd October: Qualifier B3 vs Qualifier B3

23rd October: Bangladesh vs Qualifier B3

24th October: Australia vs Pakistan

24th October: India vs South Africa

25th October: A1 vs B2

25th October: New Zealand vs West Indies

26th October: Afghanistan vs A2

26th October: England vs B1

27th October: New Zealand vs B2

28th October: Afghanistan vs B1

28th October: Australia vs West Indies

29th October: Pakistan vs A1

29th October: India vs A2

30th October: England vs South Africa

30th October: West Indies vs B2

31st October: Pakistan vs New Zealand

31st October: Australia vs A1

1st November: South Africa vs Afghanistan

1st November: India vs England

2nd November: A2 vs B1

2nd November: New Zealand vs A1

3rd November: Pakistan vs West Indies

3rd November: Australia vs B2

4th November: England vs Afghanistan

5th November: South Africa vs A2

5th November: India vs B1

6th November: Pakistan vs B2

6th November: Australia vs New Zealand

7th November: England vs A2

7th November: West Indies vs A1

8th November: South Africa vs B1

8th November: India vs Afghanistan

11th November: Semifinal 1

12th November: Semifinal 2

15th November: Final

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *